Five Barton women’s lacrosse players earn 2019 All-Conference Carolinas honors

Five members of the Barton College women’s lacrosse team earned 2019 All-Conference Carolinas honors.  Photo courtesy of Doug Page
Five members of the Barton College women’s lacrosse team earned 2019 All-Conference Carolinas honors. Photo courtesy of Doug Page

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Five members of the Barton College women's lacrosse team earned 2019 All-Conference Carolinas honors, league officials announced earlier today.

To start, sophomore attacker Kayli Ashenfelter (Stewartstown, Pa.), junior defender Alyssa Torres (White Plains, Md.) and sophomore goalkeeper Katherine Mattena (Salt Lake City, Utah) all earned all-league second-team accolades for the Bulldogs.

Ashenfelter scored a school-record 65 goals – third-best currently in the league – and finished with a team-high 78 points while Torres tallied 30 ground balls and caused 26 turnovers and Mattena stands in fourth in the conference in both goals-against average (10.77) and saves (129).

Barton sophomore attacker Angelina Scarpa (Hicksville, N.Y.) and junior midfielder Rebecca Fraser (Chesapeake, Va.) were both named to the All-Conference Carolinas Third Team.  Scarpa finished with 74 total points – 37 goals and a team-high 37 assists – while Fraser earned all-league accolades for the third straight season and currently leads the league in ground balls (80) and caused turnovers (48).

Barton finished the season with a record of 9-7 overall including a 6-4 mark in Conference Carolinas play while earning a berth to the league tournament.

2019 All-Conference Carolinas
Women's Lacrosse Teams

A – Courtne Lafler, Limestone
A – Kylie Eastman, Belmont Abbey
A – Britannie Ouimet, Limestone
A – Jackie Kaderabek, Mount Olive
MF – Rachel Kellog, North Greenville
MF – Marin Felcosi, Belmont Abbey
MF – Julia Foster, Limestone
D – Sadie Michael, Mount Olive
D – Alyssa Voccia, Limestone
D – Rose Blackburn, Limestone
D – Marissa Laidley, Belmont Abbey
GK – Sydney Taylor, North Greenville

A – Meaghan Michaud, Mount Olive
A – Kayli Ashenfelter, Barton
A – Jordan Shughrue, Mount Olive
A – Brenis Napoli, North Greenville
MF – Kiara Burke, Mount Olive
MF – Katie Schlagenhauf, Erskine
MF – Abby Hope, Limestone
D – Karlie Abbott, Mount Olive
D – Kaitlin Yenson, North Greenville
D – Alyssa Torres, Barton
D – Maren Lawrence, Limestone
GK – Katherine Mattena, Barton

A – Angelina Scarpa, Barton
A – Sharlize Burgos, Converse
A – Rachel Denney, Limestone
A – Jenna Niedzwiedzki, Belmont Abbey
MF – Tiffany Lee, Mount Olive
MF – Rebecca Fraser, Barton
MF – Jillian Chiesa, North Greenville
D – Jairy Sandoval, Southern Wesleyan
D – Victoria Bailey, Converse
D – Kira Hearns, North Greenville
D – Sarah Schaefer, Belmont Abbey
GK – Kaeleigh McDaniel, Southern Wesleyan

Elite 23 Winner
Alyssa Voccia, Limestone

Freshman of the Year
Meaghan Michaud, Mount Olive

Defensive Player of the Year
Sadie Michael, Mount Olive

Offensive Player of the Year
Courtney Lafler, Limestone

Coach of the Year
Scott Tucker, Limestone

Regular Season Champion