Barton cross country competes at the 2019 Conference Carolinas Championships

Barton sophomore Morgan Lane led the women’s squad at the 2019 Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championships Saturday at the University of Mount Olive.  Photo by Brian Hand
Barton sophomore Morgan Lane led the women’s squad at the 2019 Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championships Saturday at the University of Mount Olive. Photo by Brian Hand

MOUNT OLIVE, N.C. – The Barton men's and women's cross country teams finished ninth and 11th overall at the 2019 Conference Carolinas Championships, respectively, which took place Saturday morning on the campus of the University of Mount Olive.

On the men's side, Mount Olive won its eighth straight league title with a perfect score of 15 points.  The Trojans had the top six runners in the race including the runner of the year in Tai Smith (Glendale, Ariz.).  Smith ran the 8K course in 25:42.  Mount Olive is ranked No. 14 in the nation and first in the Southeast Region according to the USTFCCCA.

The Bulldogs were led by sophomore Deshawn Owens (Pikeville, N.C.), who placed 20th overall with a time of 27:57.  Meanwhile, sophomore Nicholas Leek (Manahawkin, N.J.) finished in 28:17 for the Bulldogs, good for 29th place.

In the women's competition, King (Tenn.) took home team honors for the first time since 2014, finishing six points better than Erskine.  Mount Olive's Leah Hanle (Lichtenstein, GERMANY) won the conference championship for the third time in her career, running the 6K course in 21:23.

Barton was paced by sophomore Morgan Lane (Elm City, N.C.).  Lane took 23rd in the race and crossed the finish line in 25:46 while freshman Isabel Reed (Wilson, N.C.) finished 29th with a time of 28:17.

The NCAA Division II Southeast Regional Cross Country Championships will take place on Saturday, November 9, in Wingate, N.C., on the campus of Wingate University.

Final Results

2019 Conference Carolinas Cross Country Championships
Saturday, October 26
Mount Olive, N.C. – The University of Mount Olive

1. Mount Olive  15
2. Emmanuel (Ga.)  70
3. Lees-McRae  97
4. North Greenville  140
5. King  150
6. Erskine  152
7. Belmont Abbey  198
8. Limestone  200
9. Barton  214
10. Southern Wesleyan  235
11. Chowan  334

Barton's Individuals
20. Deshawn Owens  27:57
29. Nicholas Leek  28:17
40. Xavier McLamb  28:48
66. Bobby Mills  30:39
79. Ramon Carter  38:29

1. King  64
2. Erskine  70
3. Southern Wesleyan  97
4. Mount Olive  102
5. North Greenville  106
6. Belmont Abbey  142
7. Emmanuel (Ga.)  205
8. Lees-McRae  210
9. Converse  217
10. Limestone  247
11. Barton  265
12. Chowan  342

Barton's Individuals
23. Morgan Lane  25:46
27. Isabel Reed  25:55
80. Telina Bunch  31:44
89. Kaleigh Dalton  34:31
94. Taylynn Blunt  37:21

2019 All-Conference Carolinas Men's Cross Country Teams

Tai Smith, Mount Olive
Jacob Gonzalez, Mount Olive
Branson Oduor, Mount Olive
Jacob Willis, Mount Olive
Jay Hall, Mount Olive

Daniel Francken, Mount Olive
Shane Shelafoe, Emmanuel
Tristin Bertie, Lees-McRae
Joshua Hall, Lees-McRae
Mugisha Bienvenu, Emmanuel

Altan Cornu, Mount Olive
Miguel Lopez, Emmanuel
Victor Shellhammer, North Greenville
Kyle Hart, King
Jacob Holcombe, North Greenville

Team Champion:
  Mount Olive
Runner of the Year:
 Tai Smith, Mount Olive
Freshman of the Year: 
Shane Shelafoe, Emmanuel
Coach of the Year: 
Jackie Kirby, Mount Olive
Elite 23 Award: 
Ethan Hargrove, Emmanuel

Leah Hanle, Mount Olive
Kirstin Barton, King
Amber Owens, Mount Olive
Lizzie Naval, Erskine
Maggie Rice, Southern Wesleyan

Hope Whisman, North Greenville
Alexa Quarles, Emmanuel
Madison Lewellen, Southern Wesleyan
Kaitlin Rivera, King
Lena Kaster, Mount Olive

Marie Berghaus, Erskine
Deanna Betzer, Lees-McRae
Rachel Lang, Belmont Abbey
Katy Neubert, King
Brittany Smith, Erskine

Team Champion:  King
Runner of the Year: 
Leah Hanle, Mount Olive
Freshman of the Year: 
Lizzie Naval, Erskine
Coach of the Year: 
Nathan Meeuwenberg, King
Elite 23 Award: 
Jadyn Slaughter, North Greenville