Lady Bulldogs seeded eighth in Southeast Regional Bracket

Lady Bulldogs seeded eighth in Southeast Regional Bracket

by Doug Page

Full NCAA Release

Interactive Bracket

INDIANAPOLIS – The NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Committee has selected the 64 teams that will participate in the 2017 NCAA Division II Women's Volleyball Championship. Eight teams were selected from each of the following eight regions: Atlantic, Central, East, Midwest, South, Southeast, South Central, and West.

The Lady Bulldogs (23-7) garnered the No. 8 seed in the Southeast Region bracket after securing the automatic qualification berth by winning the Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship. Barton will travel to Saint Augustine, Fla. and face the No. 1 seed in the Southeast Region, Flagler College. The Saints (24-3) garnered the top spot after winning the Peach Belt Conference Tournament Championship and will host the eight-team regional, Nov. 30 – Dec. 2.

Eight eight-team regionals will be played at on-campus sites. Regional competition will be single-elimination, best three-of-five-set matches and will not include a third-place match. The winners of each of the eight regionals will advance to the finals, Dec. 7-9, at the UWF Field House in Pensacola, Florida. The University of West Florida and Pensacola Sports will serve as hosts. Competition at the finals site will be single-elimination; best three-of-five-set matches.

The other six teams in the Southeast Regional include Wingate (25-3), USC-Aiken (25-5), Anderson (S.C.) (27-4), Queens (N.C.) (23-7), Georgia College (23-7), and Carson-Newman (17-14).

Stay tuned to and follow the Bulldogs on Facebook and Twitter for updates leading up to BC's matchup against Flagler.


Southeast Region

Hosted by Flagler College, Saint Augustine, Florida – Nov. 30 - Dec. 2

No. 1 Flagler (24-3) vs. No. 8 Barton (23-7)

No. 2 Wingate (25-3) vs. No. 7 Carson-Newman (17-14)

No. 3 South Carolina Aiken (25-5) vs. No. 6 Georgia College (23-7)

No. 4 Anderson (South Carolina) (27-4) vs. No. 5 Queens (North Carolina) (23-7)