Barton’s Wynn named to D2CCA All-Southeast Region Second Team

Barton’s Wynn named to D2CCA All-Southeast Region Second Team

by Doug Page


HIGH POINT, N.C. – Barton College junior forward Kianna Wynn has been selected to the 2017-18 Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) Women's Basketball All-Southeast Region Second Team, officials announced Monday morning. Voting for the D2CCA All-Region teams was conducted by the region's sports information directors.

The D2CCA All-Region honors are the second straight for Wynn, who also garnered Conference Carolinas Second Team All-Conference accolades earlier in the month.

Wynn earned her recognition after leading the Lady Bulldogs in scoring at 17.7 points per game while pulling down nine rebounds per contest. She shot 49.2 percent from the field and recorded seven double-doubles over 23 games during the season.

Wynn ranked fourth in the league in scoring and sixth in rebounding. She also ranked sixth in the league in field goal percentage. Wynn topped the 20-point mark eight times and the 30-point mark once after scoring a season-high 35 points on Feb. 26.

She also helped lead the Bulldogs into the Conference Carolinas Tournament for the 23rd consecutive season as third-seeded Barton defeated No. 4 seed King University 83-68 to win the 2017-18 Conference Carolinas Tournament Championship. Wynn was named the Conference Carolinas Women's Basketball Championship Most Outstanding Player after scoring 35 points on 11-of-20 shooting from the field in an 85-75 win over No. 6 seed Lees-McRae in the quarterfinals.

Barton clinched its seventh NCAA Tournament appearance after defeating the Tornado. The Bulldogs ended their season with a record of 23-9 after dropping an 81-76 decision in the Southeast Regional Quarterfinals against nationally-ranked No. 25 North Georgia.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.


2017-18 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Women's Basketball All-Southeast Region Team

First Team

Tatiana Wayne, Columbus State University (Jr. - Lawrenceville, Ga.)

Haris Price, Carson-Newman University (Jr. - Gatlinburg, Tenn.)

Marta Miscenko, Wingate University (Sr. - Riga, Latvia)

Mika Wester, Carson-Newman University (Jr. - Newport, Tenn.)

Felecity Havens, University of Mount Olive (Jr. - Lorain, Ohio)


Second Team

Keidra Smith, Limestone College (Sr. - Mebane, N.C.)

Shaunice Fulmore, Francis Marion University (Jr. - Lake City, S.C.)

Breshay Johnson, Lander University (Sr. - Hopkins, S.C.)

Kianna Wynn, Barton College (Jr. - Knightdale, N.C.)

Chelsea Mitchell, Lander University (Jr. - Laurel, Md.)


Southeast Region Player of the Year

Tatiana Wayne, Columbus State University (Jr. - Lawrenceville, Ga.)