Barton Tennis programs place eight on 2018 ITA All-Academic Team

Barton Tennis programs place eight on 2018 ITA All-Academic Team

by Doug Page


TEMPE, ARIZ. – The International Tennis Association (ITA) announced today that 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes have been named to the 2018 ITA All-Academic Team and Scholar-Athlete list. Barton placed a total of eight student-athletes on the list.

To be named an ITA All-Academic Team a team must have a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 on a 4.0 scale. To earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must be a varsity letter winner, have a grade point average of at least 3.50 on a 4.0 scale for the current academic year and have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

The BC women's tennis team placed four members on the list with Daria Avram, Vanessa Sanoja, Marissa Stevenson, and Ada Vargas earning the recognition. Barton finished 14-10 last season while going 9-2 in Conference Carolinas action. BC defeated Southern Wesleyan University in the quarterfinals of the league tournament before falling to No. 3 seed Limestone College in the semifinals.

The BC men's tennis team also placed four members on the list with Rory Gaydon, Hugh Ryder, Alessandro Gerbino, Martijn Eleveld earning the recognition. Barton finished the regular season by winning three of its final four matches in league play. BC made a run in the league tournament, upsetting No. 2 seed the University of Mount Olive in the quarterfinals.

In total, eight Conference Carolinas institutions garnered recognition while 35 student-athletes were honored. BC, Belmont Abbey College, and Emmanuel College were the lone league members to place student-athletes on both men's and women's teams. Converse and Erskine also placed student-athletes on the women's team.


2018 All-Academic Scholar-Athletes


Division II Women


Barton College
Daria Avram
Vanessa Sanoja
Marissa Stevenson
Ada Vargas

Belmont Abbey College
Hannah Davis
Erica Dorn
Emily Heim
Teagan McNamara
Alex Weber
Morgan Zahnd

Converse College
Elisabeth Schlesener
Shi Qing
Steffi Kong
Kaitlin Knight
Abby Roth
Carlie Peeler

Emmanuel College
Maria Raich
Victoria Silva
Katharina Kiderlen
Chloe O'Connor
Abi Muesse

Erskine College
Larissa Brutschin
Marie Berghaus
Rachel Berkey
Eileen Rickert


Division II Men


Barton College
Rory Gaydon
Hugh Ryder
Alessandro Gerbino
Martijn Eleveld

Belmont Abbey College
George Barfoot
James Delaney
Reinaldo Golindano
Ryan James
Tomas Pardo

Emmanuel College
Tom Jarry
Enrique Alcacer