BC lands two on men’s tennis all-conference team

BC lands two on men’s tennis all-conference team

by Cory Guinn

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Two members of the Barton College men's tennis team – senior Rafael Ruiz Velasco and junior Yaxi Pintado – have been named to the 2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Tennis All-Conference Team, the league announced Thursday.

Both players were recognized as All-Conference Third Team Team members. The all-conference awards were handed out based on a season points system rather than by a vote of the league's head coaches for the second year in a row.

Ruiz Velasco has now been honored with the award in all four of his seasons with the Bulldogs. He was a Second Team choice each of his first two years and a First Team selection last season. Pintado earned all-conference honors for the first time in his career.

Pintado won all nine league singles matches while playing the No. 3, No. 4 and No. 5 singles slots at various times and finished the regular season 15-5 overall and a perfect 9-0 in league singles play. The Madrid, Spain native was 13-7 overall in doubles play with a 7-2 mark in the league playing in the No. 2 position.

Ruiz Velasco, from Madrid, Spain, went 9-11 overall in singles play, including eight wins in the No. 2 slot and a 6-3 record in conference play. He was 11-9 overall in doubles play, including a 7-2 record against league members with his primary partner in the No. 1 spot, Jesus Gil.

Together, the duo helped the Bulldogs to a record of 12-9 overall and 7-2 in league play this year. Barton earned the No. 3 seed for the Conference Carolinas Tournament, which begins Friday in Sumter, S.C.

2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Tennis Awards

Player of the Year

Sjors Van Eck, North Greenville

Freshman of the Year

Guillermo Ortega, Limestone

Coach of the Year

Kent Whitener, Pfeiffer


All-Conference Teams

First Team

Gustavo D'Ascenzi, Limestone
Luis Delgado, King
Nils Hoffacker, Pfeiffer
Moritz Poswiat, King
Stefano Soares, Limestone
Sjors van Eck, North Greenville

Second Team

Juan Baez, Belmont Abbey
James Delaney, Belmont Abbey
Guillermo Ortega, Limestone
Martim Sousa, Mount Olive
Oscar Von Koch, Pfeiffer
Axel Woerner, Pfeiffer

Third Team

Bjoern Barwinski, Pfeiffer
Jose Cortijos, Mount Olive
Benji Lascari, Limestone
Lennard Keswani, King
Yaxi Pintado, Barton
Rafael Ruiz Velasco, Barton