Hordvik honored as an all-conference performer for the second straight year

Hordvik honored as an all-conference performer for the second straight year

by Cory Guinn

HIGH POINT, N.C. – Barton's Jens Madsen Hordvik has been selected All-Conference Carolinas as announced by the league on Thursday.

Hordvik, a junior goalkeeper from Arendal, Norway, was chosen Second Team All-Conference for the second consecutive year after starting all 18 games in goal for Barton during the season. His season was highlighted by a career-high 15 saves against Pfeiffer University on Oct. 12 followed by two shutouts of Lees-McRae College and King University to close out the regular season.

The head coaches of the league's member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners, who represent the best of the best for the league. The awards were presented Thursday afternoon at a ceremony held in conjunction with the Conference Carolinas Tournament.

"Jens has had a tremendous year for us and as one of the most dominate goal keepers in the region he continues to improve throughout his career," said head coach Matt Akins. "He has always been a tremendous shot blocker and this year was no different as he continued to keep our team in games and give us a chance to win. Jens improved immensely with his consistency on the ball with his distribution, but importantly he is a trusted leader and captain."

Hordvik totaled 1542:53 minutes in goal while ranking first in the conference with 91 saves after facing a league-high 130 shots on goal. He also recorded a .700 save percentage and two shutouts in leading Barton to the Conference Carolinas Tournament for the seventh straight season.

2016 Conference Carolinas Men's Soccer All-Conference Teams

Player of the Year

Nathan Regis, Pfeiffer

Defensive Player of the Year

Dani Siaj, Lees-McRae

Freshman of the Year

Louis Robles, Limestone

Coach of the Year

Bob Reasso, Pfeiffer

All-Conference First Team

Nathan Regis, Pfeiffer – Forward
Gui Machado, Limestone – Forward
Jaime Siaj, Pfeiffer – Forward
Santi Moar, Pfeiffer – Forward
Martim Galvao, Pfeiffer – Midfielder
Jorge Salvat, Limestone – Midfielder
Jorge Buzzo, Pfeiffer – Midfielder
Dani Siaj, Pfeiffer – Defender
Nestor Aguilar, Limestone – Defender
Sam Hibbert, Limestone – Defender
Tomas Correa, Pfeiffer – Goalkeeper

All-Conference Second Team

Luis Robles, Limestone – Forward
Daniel Jonna, Erskine – Forward
Pol Vassart, Lees-McRae – Forward
Thomas Deeley, Lees-McRae – Midfielder
Michel Herszenhaut, Southern Wesleyan – Midfielder
Corentin Guegan, Limestone – Midfielder
Cristobal Allendes, Pfeiffer – Defender
James Morgan, Lees-McRae – Defender
Clay Dimick, Belmont Abbey – Defender
Juan Sanchez, Pfeiffer – Defender
Jens Madsen Hordvik, Barton - Goalkeeper

All-Conference Third Team

Eli Carrasco, King – Forward
Christian Taylor, Southern Wesleyan – Forward
Roberto Soares, Pfeiffer – Forward
Cameron Whitehurst, Erskine – Midfielder
Fernando Posada, Southern Wesleyan – Midfielder
Faber Bickerstaffe, King – Midfielder
Mats Kaiser, Limestone – Midfielder
Harry Hagon, Erskine – Defender
Nestor Gonzalez, Southern Wesleyan – Defender
Miguel Anton, Limestone – Defender
Martin Arias, Erskine - Goalkeeper