Barton’s Stenborg, Buck-Lowman garner all-conference honors in men’s basketball

Barton’s Stenborg, Buck-Lowman garner all-conference honors in men’s basketball

by Benny Benton

BANNER ELK, N.C. – Barton College junior Bobby Stenborg and sophomore Isaiah Buck-Lowman were named to the 2018 Conference Carolinas Men's Basketball All-Conference Team, the league announced Saturday at a brunch held in conjunction with the league tournament.

Stenborg, a forward from Garner, N.C., was a First Team honoree, while Buck-Lowman, a forward from Woodbridge, Va., was a Third Team pick. Both are receiving All-Conference Carolinas recognition for the first time.

Their selection continues a long-time tradition, as a Barton player has been named all-conference in each of the past 18 seasons.

Stenborg, who joined the Bulldogs this year after two seasons at Brunswick Community College, ranks second in the league in field goal percentage (60.5 percent), fifth in scoring (16.5 ppg) and 12th in rebounding (6.0 rpg). He has scored in double-figures in 23 of his 28 games played, and has surpassed the 20-point plateau eight times.

Buck-Lowman is averaging 13.4 points per game, 13th-best in the conference, and 5.7 rebounds, which stands 14th-best in the league. He has produced 21 double-figure scoring games in 29 outings, and has four games of 20 points or more.

Both players are performing better than their averages in conference games. Stenborg is averaging 17.0 points per game against league foes, and Buck-Lowman is averaging 14.6.

The duo helped Barton post a 12-6 league mark and earn the No. 3 seed for this week's conference tournament. The Bulldogs will face tourney host and No. 2 seed Lees-McRae College today at approximately 4 p.m.

Men's All-Conference Carolinas First Team

Jordan Floyd, King
Lepreece Lynch, Lees-McRae
Kenny Hairston, Limestone
Bobby Stenborg, Barton
DeQuan Abrom, Belmont Abbey

Men's All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

Je'Don Young, King
Mack Owens, King
Austin Venable, Erskine
Jamaal Matin, Mount Olive
Daniel Burchette, North Greenville

Men's All-Conference Carolinas Third Team

Dominique Tham, Mount Olive
Jason Saintizaire, Lees-McRae
Isaiah Buck-Lowman, Barton
Justice McCullough, Southern Wesleyan
Jordan Turner, Lees-McRae

Player of the Year

Jordan Floyd, King

Defensive Player of the Year

Jamaal Matin, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year

Quay Kimble, Lees-McRae

Coach of the Year

Steve Hardin, Lees-McRae