Barton’s Warren named Freshman of the Year; Maslowski tabbed all-conference

Barton’s Warren named Freshman of the Year; Maslowski tabbed all-conference

by Doug Page


HIGH POINT, N.C. – Barton College junior outfielder Troy Maslowski garnered Conference Carolinas All-Conference second team accolades while freshman third baseman Colby Warren was named the Freshman of the Year on Thursday at the Conference Carolinas Baseball Awards Banquet.

Maslowski, a native of Cary, N.C. earned all-conference recognition for the second straight season after appearing in 40 games for the Bulldogs. Maslowski paced BC with 17 doubles on the season and finished third on the team with 51 hits. He also recorded a team-best .352 batting average, while recording 29 runs batted in for Barton.

Warren, a native of Roanoke Rapids, N.C. stormed onto the scene for the Bulldogs in his first season. Warren matched the single-season record set by a BC freshman with 12 home runs hit this season. He also paced the Bulldogs with 31 RBI and was just one of two players to play in all-48 games for Barton. Warren tallied 52 hits and seven doubles on the season to go along with a .313 batting average.

The Freshman of the Year honor for Warren was sparked by a .388 batting average, seven home runs, and 19 RBI in league play. He closed the regular season by hitting a home run against nationally-ranked Belmont Abbey College and a pair of home runs at home against nationally-ranked North Greenville University.

Barton last had a Freshman of the Year winner in 2002 as Trevor Lawhorn was honored by the league. Lawhorn was a ninth-round selection of the Cincinnati Reds in the 2004 Major League Baseball Amateur Draft. He played five seasons in the minors and five seasons of independent baseball before retiring in 2012.

The 2018 Bulldog roster featured 15 freshmen and 4 sophomores with six eventually working their way into the starting lineup for Barton. BC finished the season ranked No. 32 nationally in doubles (87), 60th in hits (416), and 61st in strikeouts per nine innings (8.6).



Baseball Player of the Year
Luke Cureton, Belmont Abbey


Baseball Pitcher of the Year
Tucker Burgess, North Greenville


Baseball Freshman of the Year
Colby Warren, Barton


Baseball Coach of the Year
Landon Powell, North Greenville


Baseball All-Conference First Team
1B - Drew Ellis, Mount Olive

2B - Matt McGarry, Belmont Abbey

SS - Colin Rosenbaum, Belmont Abbey

3B - Chase Allen, Limestone

C - Jose Lopez, Mount Olive

DH - Austin Mapes, Erskine

OF - Connor Grant, North Greenville

OF - Justin Carroll, Mount Olive

OF - Nick Beinlich, Belmont Abbey

OF - Luke Cureton, Belmont Abbey

SP - Tucker Burgess, North Greenville

SP - Brighton Hudson, Mount Olive

SP - German Reyes, Mount Olive

SP - Cameron Busby, Belmont Abbey

RP - Zach Vennaro, Mount Olive

UTL - Nate Estes, Mount Olive


Baseball All-Conference Second Team

1B - Zach Piazza, Limestone

2B - Jared Williams, North Greenville

SS - Utah Jones, North Greenville

3B - Ryan Brown, North Greenville

C - John Jones, North Greenville

DH - Kevin Elefante, Belmont Abbey

OF - Jeffrey Chandler, North Greenville

OF - Trae Sweeting, Mount Olive

OF - Troy Malowski, Barton

OF - Matt Orth, Limestone

SP - Ethan Garner, North Greenville

SP - Michael Carpin, Erskine

SP - Robert Bamford, Limestone

SP - Octavio Mirabal, King

RP - Canaan Cropper, North Greenville

UTL - Andrew Plunkett, North Greenville