Student-Athlete Advisory Committee


Barton Student-Athlete Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) is to promote the welfare of student-athletes at Barton College. The committee will provide a forum to enhance and facilitate communication for student-athletes within the institution, develop leadership skills, encourage academic success, assist in NCAA rules education, promote sportsmanship at intercollegiate athletic events and promote community service.

The Barton College Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) will seek to provide leadership in the athletic program for the 2015-16 academic year.  The Committee includes two representatives from each of Barton’s athletic teams and including its two advisors totals 30 members. 

SAAC members will be asked to review proposed NCAA Division II legislation to be considered at the NCAA Convention in January and comment as to the impact of each proposal on student-athlete welfare and a suggest voting yes or no.  Committee members will also act to communicate with teams they represent, sharing ideas with them from SAAC meetings and taking information and concerns from teammates to the committee.  In the broad context of the NCAA Division II philosophy of Life in Balance, service on the SAAC is intended to be a significant leadership opportunity.

Advisors for the committee are Wendee Saintsing, Senior Woman Administrator and Head Women’s Basketball Coach, and Nathan Pickel, Head Athletic Trainer.


CHAIR: Nick Ellison
VICE CHAIR: Nikki Helton
SECRETARY: Taylor Bowden
BASEBALL: Benjamin Brann, Hunter Pearre
BASKETBALL (M): Dominique Byrd, Nick Ellison
BASKETBALL (W): Jasmine Fate, Kia Funderburk
CROSS COUNTRY, TRACK & FIELD (W): Eva Amo-Mensah, Jamicia Jones, Amber Wilson
GOLF (M): Derek Hamm, Scott Pechacek
GOLF (W): Abby Glover, Sydney Turner
SOCCER (M): Omar Gonzalez, Seth Russ
SOCCER (W): Lane Brooks, Nikki Helton
SOFTBALL: Samantha Bass, Taylor Bowden
TENNIS (M): Jake McCartney, Yaxi Pintado
TENNIS (W): Loraine Chon-Qui, Dana Kelly
VOLLEYBALL (M): Charles Hyde, Jonathan Novoa-Miralles 
VOLLEYBALL (W): Riley Bane, Laura Peed